Best for small must for all
  • Sign in | Register
Home city guide greater hyderabad

Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC)

Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation or GHMC is an urban planning agency that controls and oversees Hyderabad, the capital city of Andhra Pradesh and Secunderbabd. In other words it can be said that GHMC is the local government for Hyderabad and Secunderabad.

History and Formation of the GHMC

It was in the year 1869 that the concept of municipal administration was introduced in the city of Hyderabad. The city was divided into 4 divisions and the suburb Chanderhat was divided into 5 divisions. The management and administration of both the city and the suburb were handled by the then city police commissioner, Kotwal-e-Baldia.

In the same year Sir Salar Jung-I, the then Nizam, constitutes the Department of Municipal and Road Maintenance. For greater efficiency and ease of administration, he also appointed a Municipal Commissioner for Hyderabad Board and Chaderghat Board. At that time the city was just 55 sq. km. In 1886 the Chanderghat was handed over to another commissioner and it became Chanderghat municipality. In 1921 the municipality increases to 84 sq. km.

In 1933 the two boards were combined into a corporation and given a statutory status under the Hyderabad Municipal Act. In 1934 the first elections were held and a standing committee was appointed. In 1937 Banjara Hills and Jubilee Hills merged into Jubilee Hills Municipality and in 1945 thee Secunderabad Municipality was formed.

Municipal Corporation of Hyderabad comprises Hyderabad Corporation and Secunderabad Corporation was established in 1950. In 1955 both the corporations were combined to form HMC. In 1956 Hyderabad became the capital of Andhra Pradesh. It was only in April 2007 that the GHMC was formed by 12 municipalities and 8 gram panchayats with the Municipal Corporation of Hyderabad. The GHMC comprises Hyderabad municipal corporation, 10 municipalities and 8 Panchayats in the Ranga Reddy district and 2 municipalities in the Medak district.

Ranga Reddy District municipalities are –
  • L.B Nagar
  • Malkajgiri
  • Gaddi Annaram
  • Uppal Kalan
  • Kapra
  • Alwal
  • Rajendranagar
  • Qutubullapur
  • Kukatpally
  • Serilingampalle
Ranga Reddy Panchayats are –
  • Shamshabad
  • Satamarai
  • Jallapalli
  • Mamdipalli
  • Mankhal
  • Sardanagar
  • Ravirala

Medak district municipalities are –
  • Ramchandrapuram
  • Patancheru
The GHMC is divided into 5 zones – north, south, east, west and central, 18 circles and 150 wards. The GHMC is headed by a commissioner and each zone has a zonal commissioner. The current commissioner is M.T Krishna Babu.

Greater Hyderabad Map

greater hyderabad map

Services of GHMC

The GHMC offers an array of services for the citizens. One can register on their official website and keep a track of all the latest happenings, tender notifications, payments etc.  The services are –
  • Grievances
  • Property Tax
  • Vacant Land Tax
  • Trade Licence
  • Birth registration
  • Death registration
  • Town planning – building permission, municipal resource planning
  • Advertisement
  • Parks and Urban biodiversity
  • Housing
  • Sports and Playgrounds
  • Cell Towers
The Value added services include –
  • Tender Notifications
  • Elections
  • City Managers’ training centre
  • Aasara (senior citizens welfare)

GHMC Contact

GHMC call centre numbers BSNL, Idea, Tata, Reliance and Uninor users – 155304
For other users the numbers are 040 – 23302440, 23302550, 23302660, 8790715555, and 8790725555

Mayor of Greater Hyderabad
Sri. Mohammad Majid Hussain
Phone: 040-23227958,23262266,23220430,

Sri. Somesh Kumar I.A.S 
Phone: 040-23224564 / 040-23260050

Explore more about About Hyderabad