Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide nizams of hyderabad

Nizams of Hyderabad

Nizams of Hyderabad belonged to the Asaf Jah dynasty of Turkic origin. They came to India in the late 17th century as servants of Mughal Empire. They received patronage of Mughals who recognized and supported Persian culture, literature and art.

The Asaf Jah Dynasty was founded by viceroy Mir Qamarud-Din Siddiqi. The Mughal empire fell apart after the death of Aurangzeb in 1707 and the viceroy formed an independent kingdom. For over 200 years, Hyderabad was ruled by Nizams until 17 September,1948.
Nizam of Hyderabad

Palaces of Nizams

Palaces of Nizams in Hyderabad include the Falaknuma Palace, Purani Haveli, Chowmohalla Palace, King Kothi Palace, Mahboob Mansion, Bashir Bagh Palace, Bella Vista etc. These palaces display European style of architecture along with Hindu and Islamic images and motifs.

Nizams as Client Kings of Hyderabad

Since Hyderabad did not join the first war of Independence against the British in 1857, the Nizams gained special status of 'Faithful alley with Britain'

They were allowed to rule their princely states as client kings. Hyderabad has the coveted distinction of being the richest state during that time. It had its own currency 'Hyderabadi rupee' till 1951.

The Grand Era of the Nizams

The nizams were called 'Ala Hadrat', Ala Hazrat', Nizam Sarkar' and Nizam-ul-mulk'. The word 'Nizam' means 'order', arrangement', 'administrator' and 'governor'. However, titles were abolished by Indian Government on 28th December, 1971.

Lineage of Nizams of Hyderabad

  • Qamar-ud-din Khan, Asaf Jah I, first Nizam of Hyderabad. He formally made Hyderabad his capital on 7th December, 1724.
  • Nasir Jang Mir Ahmad (Ruled from June 1748-Dec. 1750), 2nd Nizam (Ruled from June 1748-Dec. 1750).
  • Muhyi ad-din Muzaffar Jang Hidayat, 3rd Nizam of Hyderabad.
  • Asaf ad-Dawlah Mir Ali Salabat Jang, 4th Nizam (Ruled from Feb. 1751-July 1762).
  • Ali Khan, Asaf Jah II, 5th Nizam (Ruled from July 1762-Aug. 1803).
  • Mir Akbar Ali Khan Sikandar Jah, Asaf Jah III, 6th Nizam (Ruled from Aug. 1803-May 1829). He was officially granted the title of Nizam.
  • Nasir-ud-dawlah, asaf Jah IV, 7th Nizam (Ruled from May 1829- May 1857).
  • Afzal ad-Dawlah, asaf JahV, 8th Nizam (Ruled from May 1857-Feb. 1869).
  • Mahbub Ali Khan, Asaf Jah VI, 9th Nizam of Hyderabad.
  • Osman Ali Khan, Asaf Jah VII, 10th Nizam (Ruled from Aug. 1911-Sept. 1948). The last Nizam, he was one of the richest men in the world during his reign from August 1911 to September 1948. He served as 'Rajpramukh' of Hyderabad state from 26th January,1950 to 31st October, 1956, after which his post was abolished. He served as titular monarch until his death on 24 January, 1967 at the age of 80 years.
  • Barkat Ali Khan Mukarram Jah, Asaf Jah VIII, 11th Nizam of Hyderabad.

Hyderabad became Part of Indian Union

In 1947, the Nizam of Hyderabad declared that he would join neither India nor Pakistan and remain a self-governing independent state. 

So, Indian Government launched a military operation 'Operation Polo' and defeated the Nizam and his rule ended on 17 September, 1948. This signalled the end of the ruling dynasty.

The mausoleum of the last Nizam is in Judi Mosque while other Nizams have been buried in royal graves at Makkah Masjid in Hyderabad.

Read more: Wholesale Market in Hyderabad, Wine Shop in Hyderabad, Food Industry In Hyderabad, Orphanages in Hyderabad, Jails in Hyderabad, Luxury Hotels in Hyderabad, Small Scale Industry in Hyderabad, Fish Treatment in Hyderabad, Government Hospital in Hyderabad, Hyderabad Film StudioWomen Welfare Organizations in Hyderabad, Birla Mandir Hyderabad, Glass Bangle in Hyderabad, NIMS in Hyderabad, Holistic Healing Centres in Hyderabad, Railways Station in Hyderabad, Mosque In Hyderabad, Services in Hyderabad, Purani Haveli in Hyderabad, Hyderabad Library, Ambulance Service in Hyderabad, Hyderabad Cricket Association, Hills Station near Hyderabad, Hyderabad NGO, Salarjung Museum, Nizams of Hyderabad, Chowmahalla Palace, Charminar, Ramoji Film City, Clubs in Hyderabad, Hyderabadi Biriyani, Falaknuma Palace, Purani Haveli, Falaknuma Palace, Purani Haveli, Chowmohalla Palace

Explore more about History of Hyderabad

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries